The Laws of Attraction

Are we attracted to each other?

It struck me last night, during an online Webinar on ‘selling your own books online’ (or something to that effect, a link the what I didn’t buy – link), that I need to attract people to me on the ‘interweb’. I need to pool myself some readers, followers, like-minded individuals.

Then… WordPress 101 tells us, for our next assignment, to attract the kind of readers you want for your blog. So I say,

OK universe, I get the message“.

The rest of this blog is dedicated to the kinds of readers I’d like to attract; the dilettante writers, the forgiving readers, the wanna-be-part-of-something-novelanything-goes kind of person, I wanna put myself out there and go-for-it person. I want a community and a place of camaraderie not competition.

We’re in this together!”

 So without further ado I tell you the topic of the rest of this blog –

I‘m writing a book for charity. The working title is ‘The Chance Story‘.

  • I’ve written two works of fiction in my life – two ~50K drafts, both off the back of NaNoWriMo, 2013, and 2014.
  • The 2013 experience was amazing, and I got so much understanding from the process of writing novels I took on board a charity book project for a woman I met in Canada for NaNo_2014.
    • Her story has been dramatised by me into a 50K draft with the intention of getting it good enough to sell it to raise money for the charity for the condition she has.
  • I’ve never edited a novel before – “Ooh, fun!” I keep telling myself (I am used to editing scientific papers and the one massive PhD thesis I wrote)
  • Last November/December I took a five two-hour session paid creative writing course (and missed one) towards the end of writing my first draft of the book and it shows how novel I am to writing novels (I feel like I should re-write the whole book already, but I won’t).
  • I think have have worked out a strategy for handing the 50K-word draft so I can structurally edit it and move chapters and scenes around.
  • I’ve just registered as a Freelance Science Communications Writer with Her Majesty’s government (in the UK) so I can earn a bit of money to live on. https://twitter.com/Paraphyso/status/552794265286606851
  • I am just winging it. (A great article on ‘winging it’)

 

Pleased to meet you, whoever and wherever you are.

 

 

About Dr Jojo Scoble

Freelance Science Communicator. Microbiology PhD Oxon. Fiction Writer. Social Media dilettante. Ideas Factory.
This entry was posted in blogging, WordPress101, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

